Credit Card Fees, Tobacco Rules Top Convenience Sector Budget Recommendations

The CCSA’s new President, Satinder Chera was in Ottawa on October 26th to highlight the cost of high credit card fees on consumers and retailers, while also speaking to the negative impact that proposed plain packaging requirements for tobacco products will have on local communities.

Chera appeared before a panel of elected officials, who are preparing a report for the Minister of


Fighting back against high credit card fees

The CCSA applaud's Walmart’s announcement that it will no longer accept Visa because of "unacceptably high fees”. Canadian retailers pay some of the highest fees in the world. The CCSA speaks to CBC about the battle over credit card fees charged to merchants. [...]

Plain packaging of tobacco will do more harm than good

OTTAWA, ONTARIO--(Marketwired – May 31st, 2016) - The Canadian Convenience Stores Association (CCSA) is expressing concern in response to an announcement today from federal Health Minister Jane Philpott regarding the introduction of plain packaging for tobacco products in Canada. Retailers are concerned that this plan will have unintended consequences for small business owners [...]

Convenience Stores Proactively Release Retailer Best Practice Recommendations on the Sale of E-Cigarettes

TORONTO, ONTARIO--(Marketwired - Aug. 26, 2014) - The Canadian Convenience Stores Association (CCSA) today released its retailer best practice recommendations for the sale of non-nicotine electronic cigarettes (e-cigarettes).The Association is also asking health officials at all levels of government to consult with retailers in the development of future e-cigarette regulations


Legislation to Keep Contraband Tobacco Off Canadian Streets Comes Into Force

Government of Canada is committed to keeping our streets and communities safe for Canadian families

April 14, 2015 – Moncton, NB – Department of Justice.

Today, Justice Minister and Attorney General Peter MacKay and Robert Goguen, Parliamentary Secretary and MP for Moncton-Dieppe-Riverview,